The Board of the Charities Regulatory Authority

This follows the appointment of Una Ni Dhubhghaill as the Chief Executive of the new Authority in March. Conor Woods is to be appointed as Chairperson of the new Authority.

The following people are to be appointed as ordinary members:

  • Conor Woods – Chairperson Accountant / Senior Statutory Auditor. Chairperson of Chartered Accountants Ireland Charity Committee. Lecturer on Corporate Governance Charities Act 2009 implementation, Governance Code and Irish Tax Review Guidelines with Arthur Guinness Fund.
  • Graham Richards – Charity Commissioner. Managing Partner of Matheson Ormsby Prentice Solicitors with particular expertise in the area of trusts and estates.
  • Ann Fitzgerald – Barrister. Member of Board of Directors Cork Simon Community.
  • Patricia Cronin – Solicitor. Board Member and ViceChair of Transparency International Ireland.
  • David Brady – Accountant/Senior Consultant/Advisor to the Charity sector. Former Chair of the Charities and Not-for-Profit Special Interest Group of Chartered Accountants Ireland.
  • Patrick Hopkins – Accountant/Company Secretary Enterprise Ireland. Board Member St Vincent de Paul.
  • Anna Classon – Head of Fundraising RNLI. Institute of Fundraising Member.
  • Fergus Finlay – Chief Executive, Barnardos.
  • Cynthia Clampett – CEO Mayo Roscommon Hospice Foundation.
  • Tom Costello – Programme Executive with The Atlantic Philanthropies
  • Senan Turnbull – Chair, Think Ahead Advisory Committee, Irish Hospice Foundation. Member of the Working Group of The Governance Code.
  • Barbara O’Connell – Former Occupational Therapy Manager. Co-Founder and Chief Executive of Acquired Brain Injury Ireland. Board Member of Disability Federation of Ireland and European Brain Injury Society.
  • Hugh Maddock – Area Organiser / Fundraiser for Rehabilitation Institute / Rehab Group who has personal experience of disability.
  • Sandra Chambers – Tax Specialist with particular expertise in the area of establishment and funding of charities.
  • Katie Cadden – Solicitor with Masters Degree in Public Law. Formerly legal adviser to PRTB.
  • Noel Wardick – International Programs-Consultant CBM Ireland. Former Head of International Department, Irish Red Cross. Director on the governing boards of Transparency International Ireland and Comhlámh.

The Charities Regulatory Authority (CRA) is Ireland's national statutory regulatory agency for charitable organisations. The CRA was established on the 16 October 2014 under the terms of the Charities Act 2009. It is an independent agency of the Department of Justice and Equality.

Contact details:
Charities Regulatory Authority,
51 St. Stephen's Green,
Dublin 2.
Telephone: 01-633 1500

Visit the Charities Regulatory Authority website for more:

Written on 7 Nov, 2014

Back to News.

Share this article